Tradition

at the ZumKoch Hotel & Restaurant

Nestled in the enchanting hilly countryside of Lower Bavaria, seated on a small hill just one kilometre away from the town centre of the historic market town of Ortenburg, our family-run hotel and restaurant invites guests to enjoy themselves and feel at home. With warmth and personality, we turn your holiday in our establishment into an unforgettable experience - see for yourself!
Both ourselves and the entire team look forward to your visit!
The Meyerhofer family

Family Business

in its 5th generation

The name of our establishment, "Zum Koch", goes back to the historical period of the counts, where our ancestors worked as employees of the count, as was usual for all houses near Vorderhainberg. Around... read more

The name of our establishment, "Zum Koch", goes back to the historical period of the counts, where our ancestors worked as employees of the count, as was usual for all houses near Vorderhainberg. Around 1680, the "Langmeier" farm was bought by the Meyerhofer family. In 1782, it was turned into the "Zum Koch" inn, which was then converted into a guesthouse in 1906 and expanded in 1910 to include its own distillery. Since this time, we have been providing for our guests' well-being with passion and warm hospitality as a carefully-run family business.

The 60s

Summer visitors from Berlin

From 1950, as the German trend for travelling began picking up again, many people from Berlin came to the surrounding area of Ortenburg and were accommodated in guest rooms throughout the entire locality. To... read more

From 1950, as the German trend for travelling began picking up again, many people from Berlin came to the surrounding area of Ortenburg and were accommodated in guest rooms throughout the entire locality. To be able to offer its guests... read more
From 1950, as the German trend for travelling began picking up again, many people from Berlin came to the surrounding area of Ortenburg and were accommodated in guest rooms throughout the entire locality. To be able to offer its guests more in-house attractions in the future, a restaurant and a skittles alley were built in the "Zum Koch Guesthouse" in 1970 - amenities which were immediately accepted very well by the guests.

 

The Koch Grows

from 1975

The existing building complex was expanded to include a new guesthouse in 1975 due to rising numbers in overnight stays. As early as 1976, guests were able to frolic in the hotel’s very own indoor pool – a... read more

The existing building complex was expanded to include a new guesthouse in 1975 due to rising numbers in overnight stays. As early as 1976, guests were able to frolic in the hotel’s very own indoor pool – a highlight. The physical separation between the main house and the guest house was done away with by building a passageway in 1977. The so-called “Große Saal” [Big Hall] was also expanded in 1978, which hosted more than 50 events every year, such as the stout festival for over 500 guests.

Hotel Expansion

1981

Another structural change began in 1981 due to continuously high capacity. The front building was increased by one storey, which led to the creation of both new rooms and of "Conference Room 1". After this... read more

Another structural change began in 1981 due to continuously high capacity. The front building was increased by one storey, which led to the creation of both new rooms and of "Conference Room 1". After this conversion, the "Zum Koch" Hotel was able to offer its guests a total of 180 beds, and the team of staff already comprised 49 employees.

Renovation

2013/14

The hotel’s indoor pool, which had since become rather dated, was renovated from top to bottom and transformed into a 900 m2-large wellness area. This was completed with a sauna area including a steam bath,... read more

The hotel’s indoor pool, which had since become rather dated, was renovated from top to bottom and transformed into a 900 m2-large wellness area. This was completed with a sauna area including a steam bath, Finnish sauna, bio sauna and salt cave. From now on, comfortable relaxation areas, all with different designs, invite the guests to relax. 16 rooms on the second and third storeys, as well as “Conference Room 2” were also completely renovated and fitted with new technology. The outdoor area also experienced a general refurbishment, and now allows the guest direct access from the newly-planted wellness garden into the hotel.

And here we are...

2017/18

The "Koch" is beginning a new era and the wave of renovations, started in 2013/14, were completed with the modernisation of the entire ground floor area, incl. kitchen, restaurant and reception. In the... read more

The "Koch" is beginning a new era and the wave of renovations, started in 2013/14, were completed with the modernisation of the entire ground floor area, incl. kitchen, restaurant and reception. In the newly-opened comfortable and homely Cellini Bar, design & tradition now fuse together into one harmonious overall design. Just a few steps, and eventful days can be slowly brought to a close over a glass of good wine, etc. You can now dine in a refined & comfortable manner in the Manzana Restaurant. Here, hotel guests with half-board or the new "Koch's Finest Gourmet" board can find the perfect culinary accompaniment to their stay. The à la carte "Hoamatküch" Restaurant has been completely redesigned and now offers a perfect modern yet cosy flair for unforgettable moments of culinary indulgence. By late May, eight rooms in the main building were completely removed and transformed into comfort rooms and exclusive studios, which will offer our guests the most modern living comfort for relaxing and feeling at home. It's the details that make the difference between a hotel and a gourmet hotel.

Tradition

des Hotel & Restaurant ZumKoch

Eingebettet in die bezaubernde Hügellandschaft Niederbayerns, auf einer kleinen Anhöhe nur einen Kilometer vom Ortskern des historischen Grafenmarktes Ortenburg entfernt, lädt unser familiengeführtes Hotel und Restaurant zum Wohlfühlen und Genießen ein. Mit Herzlichkeit und Individualität machen wir Ihren Urlaub in unserem Haus zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis – überzeugen Sie sich selbst!
Wir und das gesamte Team freuen sich auf Ihr Kommen!
Ihre Familie Meyerhofer

Familienbetrieb

in 5. Generation

Unser Hausname „Zum Koch“ geht bis in die Grafenzeit zurück, in der unsere Vorfahren, wie in allen Häusern bei Vorderhainberg üblich, Mitarbeiter des Grafen waren. Um 1680 wurde die Landwirtschaft... weiterlesen

Unser Hausname „Zum Koch“ geht bis in die Grafenzeit zurück, in der unsere Vorfahren, wie in allen Häusern bei Vorderhainberg üblich, Mitarbeiter des Grafen waren. Um 1680 wurde die Landwirtschaft "Langmeier" von der Familie Meyerhofer gekauft. Im Jahr 1782 entstand daraus das Wirtshaus "Zum Koch", das 1906 in ein Gästehaus umgebaut wurde und 1910 um eine hauseigene Brennerei erweitert wurde. Schon seit dieser Zeit sorgen wir als achtsam geführter Familienbetrieb mit Leidenschaft und herzlicher Gastfreundschaft für das Wohl unserer Gäste.

Die 60er Jahre

Berliner Sommerfrischler

Ab 1950, als die deutsche Reisewelle wieder Fahrt aufnahm, kamen viele Berliner in die Umgebung von Ortenburg und wurden im gesamten Ort verteilt in Fremdenzimmern untergebracht. Um seinen Gästen künftig... weiterlesen

Ab 1950, als die deutsche Reisewelle wieder Fahrt aufnahm, kamen viele Berliner in die Umgebung von Ortenburg und wurden im gesamten Ort verteilt in Fremdenzimmern untergebracht. Um seinen Gästen künftig weitere, hauseigene Attraktionen bieten zu können, wurde 1970 im "Gasthaus Zum Koch" ein Restaurant und eine Kegelbahn gebaut – Annehmlichkeiten, die von den Gästen sogleich sehr gut angenommen wurden.

Der Koch wächst

ab 1975

Aufgrund steigender Übernachtungszahlen wurde 1975 der bestehende Gebäudekomplex um ein neues Gästehaus erweitert. Schon ab 1976 konnten sich dann die Gäste im hauseigenen Hallenbad tummeln – ein Highlight.... weiterlesen

Aufgrund steigender Übernachtungszahlen wurde 1975 der bestehende Gebäudekomplex um ein neues Gästehaus erweitert. Schon ab 1976 konnten sich dann die Gäste im hauseigenen Hallenbad tummeln – ein Highlight. Die räumliche Trennung zwischen Haupt- und Gästehaus wurde 1977 durch den Bau eines Übergangs aufgehoben. 1978 wurde dann auch der sogenannte "Große Saal" ausgebaut, in dem pro Jahr über 50 Veranstaltungen wie z.B. das Starkbierfest für über 500 Gäste stattfanden.

Hotelerweiterung

1981

Aufgrund kontinuierlich hoher Auslastung startete 1981 eine weitere bauliche Veränderung. Der Frontbau wurde um eine Etage aufgestockt und neue Zimmer, sowie der "Tagungsraum 1" entstanden. Nach diesem Umbau... weiterlesen

Aufgrund kontinuierlich hoher Auslastung startete 1981 eine weitere bauliche Veränderung. Der Frontbau wurde um eine Etage aufgestockt und neue Zimmer, sowie der "Tagungsraum 1" entstanden. Nach diesem Umbau konnte das Hotel "Zum Koch" seinen Gästen insgesamt 180 Betten bieten und das Team umfasste bereits 49 Angestellte.

Renovierung

2013/14

Das mittlerweile in die Jahre gekommene, hauseigene Hallenbad wurde grundlegend renoviert und in eine 900 m2 große Wellnesslandschaft verwandelt. Komplettiert wird diese mit einer Saunalandschaft inklusive... weiterlesen

Das mittlerweile in die Jahre gekommene, hauseigene Hallenbad wurde grundlegend renoviert und in eine 900 m2 große Wellnesslandschaft verwandelt. Komplettiert wird diese mit einer Saunalandschaft inklusive Dampfbad, Finnischer Sauna, Bio-Sauna und Salzgrotte. Unterschiedlich gestaltete, gemütliche Ruhebereiche laden von jetzt an die Gäste zum Entspannen ein. Auch 16 Zimmer im zweiten und dritten Stock, sowie der "Tagungsraum 2" wurden vollständig renoviert und mit neuer Technik ausgestattet. Auch die Außenanlage erfuhr eine Generalüberholung und erlaubt dem Gast nun einen direkten Zugang vom neu angelegten Wellnessgarten ins Hotel.

Es ist soweit...

2017/18

Der Koch startet in eine neue Ära und komplettiert die 2013/14 gestartete Renovierungswelle mit der Modernisierung des gesamten Erdgeschoss-Bereiches inkl. Küche, Restaurant und Rezeption. In der neu... weiterlesen

Der Koch startet in eine neue Ära und komplettiert die 2013/14 gestartete Renovierungswelle mit der Modernisierung des gesamten Erdgeschoss-Bereiches inkl. Küche, Restaurant und Rezeption. In der neu eröffneten behaglich-familiären Bar Cellini verschmilzt nun Design & Tradition zu einem stimmigen Gesamtkonzept. Nur ein paar Schritte, und ereignisreiche Tage können bei einem guten Glas Wein, etc. langsam ausklingen. In den Manzana Restaurants lässt sich jetzt fein & gemütlich speisen. Hausgäste mit Halbpension oder der neuen Genießerpension Kochs Finest finden hier die perfekte kulinarische Begleitung für ihren Aufenthalt. Das à la carte Restaurant "Hoamatküch" wurde komplett neu gestylt und bietet nun das perfekte modern-heimelige Flair für unvergessliche kulinarische Verwöhnmomente. Bis Pfingsten werden im Hauptbau acht Zimmer komplett entkernt und in Komfortzimmer und exklusive Studios verwandelt, die künftig unseren Gästen modernsten Wohnkomfort zum Wohlfühlen und Relaxen bieten. Es sind eben die Details, die ein Hotel zum Genießerhotel machen.